2014 Employment Law eBook

The Employment Law eBook will help HR Managers and Executive Directors better prepare for challenges that may be pressing in 2014.

The entire book may be downloaded for free.
Individual articles are also available for download here:

Obamacare’s Contraceptive Mandate

Armstrong Case is Ohio Supreme Court’s Most Significant Decision of 2013

Popular Use of Independent Contractors Brings Increased Risks As Misclassification Enforcement Expands

Tax Treatment of Severance Payments and Settlement Agreements

When Is An Employee’s Oral Complaint Protected Under the FLSA?

I.C.E. Continues Chilling Trend of Aggressive I-9 Enforcement

Do Employers Have To Hire Criminals?


Nominations For John P. Kiely Professionalism Award Being Accepted

The Cincinnati Bar Association is accepting award nominations for the John P. Kiely Professionalism Award through January 31, 2014.

Per the CBA website, “This award recognizes a trial lawyer for possessing outstanding trial skills and demonstrating the highest degree of professionalism, civility and ethical standards in his or her daily practice.”

The award is named after Rendigs founder John P. Kiely who was widely regarded for his ethical approach to the practice of law.

Past winners include:
Leo Breslin (posthumously, 2001)
Robert L. Davis (2002)
Thomas S. Calder (2003)
Ralph Mitchell (2004) – a past Rendigs attorney
James L. O’Connell (2005)
Gates T. Richards (2006)
Bea V. Larsen (2007)
James R. Adams (2008)
Robert F. Laufman (2009)
David Winchester Peck (2010) – a current Rendigs attorney
Kathleen M. Brinkman (2011)
Louis F. Gilligan (2012)
Gerald J. Rapien (2013)

Nominations of current CBA members can be submitted to Maria Palermo at (513) 699-1402 or mcpalermo@cincybar.org.